## IOWA STATE TRAPSHOOTING ASSOCIATION

Board Meeting March 19, 2016

President Denny Dozark called the Board Meeting of the Iowa State Trapshooting Association to order at 10:05 am on Saturday, March 19, 2016, at the Library in Story City.

Present were: Denny Dozark, Jon Peterson, Shelly Heitner, Kevin Hartwig, John Combs, Doug Brower, Hal Myers, Heath Kasperbauer, and Debra Oelmann. Absent: David Wickman, Ray Dentlinger, Robert Doerres and Nick Taylor. Guest: Dennis Bigelow.

The December 5, 2015 Board Meeting minutes were read by Deb Oelmann and approved.

The current year financial statement was reviewed by Deb Oelmann. Our checking account bank balance is \$169,817.94. Jon Peterson moved to accept the financial statement as presented, Kevin Hartwig seconded, motion carried.

Denny Dozark then read to the Board proposed By-Laws. After a few minor revisions were made to the proposed By-Laws, Jon Peterson moved to accept the Iowa State Trapshooting Association Hall of Fame By-Laws, seconded by John Combs, vote 3 yes, 1 no, motion carried. These By-Laws will be published on the ISTA website and posted in the classification room during the Iowa State Shoot.

The ISTA Zone Shoots were then discussed. At the December 5, 2015 Board meeting Dale Stockdale presented to the Board a proposal to hold the Iowa Zone Shoots in September. The Zone Directors have talked to many shooters in their respective zones and it was the consensus to not change the Zone Shoot dates but to leave them in June. A discussion was then held on the zone champion being won on 200 targets vs. 300 targets. It was decided to leave at 300 targets as it presently is. The zone shoot trophies were then discussed. In lieu of receiving a leather bag for being the zone champion, singles champion, handicap champion or doubles champion, the shooter can opt to take the cost of the bag in cash. In the past the zone team received a shell carrier. For the 2016 zone shoots, it was decided to give a plaque vs. a shell carrier. Expanding the trophies given at the four zone shoots was then discussed. Jon Peterson moved that the ISTA will provide each zone five (5) flats of shells to be given to the five (5) single class zone winners, the four (4) handicap yardage group zone winners, and the three (3) doubles class zone winners. The Zone Director will get these shells to their respective zone shoots. Also nine (9) medals or similar trophy will be awarded per zone for singles, handicap and doubles to the sub-junior, junior and junior gold winner. This motion was seconded by John Combs, motion carried.

Items for the 2016 Iowa State Shoot were then discussed as follows:

- The awards presentation which is usually held on Friday will be held Saturday before the shoot-offs.
- The Hawkeye singles will be shot off Thursday along with the Wednesday singles.

- Hall of Fame Day will honor Tim Quade, Dale Stockdale and Dennis Bigelow at the 2016 Iowa State Shoot.
- Event sponsors at the 2016 Iowa State Shoot will be White Flyer and Farmers National Company. Crow Shooting Supply, Sunset Distributors and SKB will each be donating a gun for Event #12 Lucky Number Gun Event. A fourth gun is being sought so that there is a gun given for each yardage group. Event sponsors are still needed.
- Denny Dozark has re-entered into our golf cart contract with Leisure Golf Cars.
- Cedar Falls Gun Club has asked permission to sell advertising signs to be placed on the back of the scorer chairs sponsoring a trap. The proceeds will be used for ground improvements. Jon Peterson moved to allow Cedar Falls Gun Club to sell "Trap Sponsored By" signs for the back of trap chairs, seconded by Kevin Hartwig, motion carried.

The AIM State Shoot will be held on Tuesday of the state shoot. Last year out-of-state trophies where not given. It was decided to purchase 12 medals this year for out-of-state trophies at a cost of approx. \$100. Also the ISTA needs to provide scorekeepers for the AIM State Shoot. Therefore the cost per 100 targets will be \$29.00 for the AIM State Shoot vs. \$24.00 last year.

The SCTP shoot will be June 9-12, 2016. Last year the DNR provided trophies for three places. Denny Dozark has visited with the DNR about going down six places. This will cost approx. \$5,219 for trophies. The DNR is willing to pay \$1,140. John Combs moved to give \$4,079 for trophies during the SCTP shoot, seconded by Jon Peterson, motion carried. It was decided to open the shower house up from 5:00–9:00 pm each day of the SCTP shoot. The toilets will be blocked off. If there is any vandalism to the shower house, they will be closed immediately.

Maintenance and repair projects were then discussed. Two new trap houses have been completed. A budget of approx. \$50,000 has been allotted to repair projects this year. The yardage walkways need to be completed at these two new houses. The proposed walkways will duplicate trap 37. Shelly Heitner moved to replace four (4) trap field walkways, seconded by Jon Peterson, motion carried. Steve Winkey from the Cedar Falls Gun Club has offered to sell sponsorships for the new yardage walkways. Also projects that need to be completed as soon as possible are the maintenance shed restrooms, the Bob Allen building roof, the West end driveway installed, trees planted, the shoot-off lights fixed, and hinges placed on the trap house doors. Denny Dozark will review and start the process of these projects.

Saturday, May 14, 2016 has been set as the work day to install traps, etc. beginning at 9:00 am.

A motion was made by Shelly Heitner that the meeting adjourn, seconded by John Combs. Meeting adjourned at 1:48 pm.

Debra Oelmann Secretary